THEFT/ BURGLARY OFFENSES
Being charged with theft can be an embarrassing situation. The Texas Penal Code defines theft as the taking of property unlawfully, without the owner’s consent and with the intent of depriving the owner of that property. There are several ways an individual can commit a theft related offense such as shoplifting, writing hot checks or not paying for services rendered.
Burglary is the act of entering or staying inside a habitation or building, publicly or privately owned, without the consent of the owner along with an intent to commit theft, assault, or another felony. There are certain elements law enforcement must meet in order to charge an individual with a burglary offense. In Texas, there are three degrees of burglary charges, all of which are felonies.
Penalties for theft and burglary in Texas can have severe consequences such as jail time, fines and limit an individual’s ability to gain employment in the future due to criminal convictions.
Theft & Burglary offenses include, but are not limited to, the following:
- Theft $100-$750
- Theft $750- $2500
- Theft Over $2,500
- Theft of Service
- Burglary Building
- Burglary Habitation
If you have been charged with a theft or burglary offense, contact our office today to schedule a free consultation with an attorney well versed in handling these types of cases.